Old and Forgotten

​I walk into the nursing home,
this is what I see. 
Sweet expectant faces,
looking back at me.

I take a seat and listen,
to what they have so say.
So eager for attention,
from another lonely day.

The outside may be shriveled,
most of them can’t walk.
They’re minds remember everything,
they love to sit and talk.

Remembering all the good times,
from their younger days.
They speak on how the world has changed,
in oh so many ways.

Some are all alone,
no family or friends.
The sad looks on their faces,
breaks my heart again.

Leave a Reply

