What If It Was Me 

I see them in the nursing homes,
sitting all alone.
Wondering where their loved ones are,
wishing they were home.

They reminisce of days gone by,
in the past they flee.
I can’t help but stop and think,
what if it was me?

Sleeping in the elements,
circumstances change.
They never thought they’d see the day,
our eyes avoid their gaze.

Just trying to survive,
looking for a meal.
I can’t help but stop and think,
what if it was me?

An illness has befallen him,
through no fault of his own.
His body tired and giving up,
in the hospital he goes.

Staring at the four white walls,
Time slowly ticks away.
I can’t help but stop and think,
what if it was me?

So busy with our lives,
excuses why we can’t.
To place ourselves inside their shoes,
we might just slow our stance.

Take the time to show compassion,
empathy to understand.
Sometimes we just need some help,
or a friend to hold our hand.

To try a little harder
for the least of these.
For in an instant life can change,
what if it was me?

Leave a Reply

