Humbled by Homeless

I find myself extremely humbled tonight. My family has recently gotten involved with a local non-profit organization assisting our homeless community.
It started as a fundraiser, just trying to do something good. I thought that would be the end of it.
After meeting with members of the group and learning more about this cause, I’m finding this may be were God wants me to be.
Every Thursday night, this group meets in a local church to prepare a hot meal for our outside neighbors. Once the cooking, plating, and packing are done;  the group splits into several smaller groups to deliver the hot meals.
I’ve had the honor of riding along on a few deliveries and had the pleasure of meeting a few people. They tend to be a bit standoffish at first, which is completely understandable.
Each has his or her own individual story. Each has their own demons they battle daily. They are no different than me and you. Their struggles are real.
My humility comes in the fact that I have a cozy home waiting for me at the end of the day. I choose what I want to eat. I choose what temperature my house is. I have a warm bed to sleep in. I have hot coffee in the morning. People aren’t afraid of me.
I met one man in particular today. He was so sad, so thin and frail. He had a sense of hopelessness about him. He was in the hospital and has been on suicide watch. My heart breaks for him.
The precious soul I had the pleasure of riding with today was a true blessing. She talked to this man and told him every thing was going to be just fine, as she sincerely tried to lift his spirit by letting him know how much God loved him. After several minutes, she asked if we could pray for him, he agreed. We formed a prayer circle and she prayed. After we left the room, she borrowed a piece of paper to write a note for him to have as a reminder of how special he is and that we are all praying for him.
God has a plan for all of us. Regardless of what material possessions we might acquire during our time on earth, we all come into this world with nothing and we will leave with nothing. However, how we use our time here will determine our rewards in heaven.
Jesus was homeless and lived among them. The least we can do is love them as Jesus would. Homeless doesn’t mean hopeless.

One thought on “Humbled by Homeless

  1. For many years lworked with the homeless on the street handing out hot chocolate in the winter and cold drinks in the summer. I too found it humbling and extremely rewarding. Unlike what most people would expect, when you are not looking down your nose at the homeless they show their gratitude in their eyes and that is one of the things l miss most. I am no longer able to work on the street with these lost souls but l always carry little cards in my purse to hand out. I hate to see people ignore them and l think to myself about that verse in Hebrews about th angels people are unaware of. I m new to this site but l will be back.

    Like

Leave a Reply

