Prayer Life

It seems as though certain topics just weigh on my mind. God puts thoughts in our heads for a reason. Have you ever noticed when one of these topics are on your mind, it seems there is more talk about it around you? That’s how it happens with me.

In church on Sunday, my Pastor had everyone take a deep breath and let it out. Then he said, “God gave you that and He can take it away.” Although this is very true, I didn’t think much about it at the time.

On my lunch break, especially on really hectic days, I park under a tree with my windows down and just enjoy the hour. Sometimes I read, or write. Other times I listen to music, or a sermon on the radio.

Today I listened the end of a talk show and the beginning of a sermon. Both were speaking about prayer.

Think about this:
As my Pastor pointed out, God gave us life. Think about how many breaths we take in the course of a lifetime. Most of us don’t give it a second thought.
We need oxygen to survive and we just assume it will always be there. Don’t we also need God in the same way? Do we take Him for granted as well? Shouldn’t we be praying to our Creator in the same way we breathe, without a second thought.
My guess would be the majority of us do not pray without ceasing (1 Thessolonians 5:17).

This brings up the second point. When we pray, are we truthful with ourselves and with God; or do we give Him the cleaned up version of our lives? Do we pray as many attend church,  by giving our best on Sunday morning only? Do we argue in the car and then put a smile on when we open the door? Is our prayer life like this too?

Let’s be honest. I’ve caught myself doing it at times. I know I need to pray, but then I’ll find my mind wondering.  If we’re not giving God our full attention in our prayer life, then why should He give us His full attention in response?  It makes sense when you think about it.

I can honestly say that any time I have prayed with the angst that God deserves, I have gotten a response. Some are quicker than others because it’s all done in His timing.

This something I’ve been thinking about a lot lately. I hope it gives you some food for thought as well.

Leave a Reply

