Why Should God Let You Into Heaven?

I’m sitting here writing and listening to music. I have the house to myself, thinking about getting a few things done. I see my cat take off down the hallway, an indication of company approaching. Sure enough, the doorbell rang.

I answer the door to a young gentleman from a neighborhood church. We had a really good conversation and prayed. In our conversation, he asked me this question:
“Why should God let you into heaven?”
My immediate response was “because He loves me”. But now he has me thinking about it.  He lets us in because He made a promise to us. Jesus suffered and died for us He loved us so much.  John 3:16 says so much.

It’s so simple yet it seems like it shouldn’t be that easy? I realize people are at different places in their walks with God. I’m still learning and always will be.

What are your thoughts? How would you answer? What’s the first thing that comes to your mind?

Leave a Reply

