Morning Commute

imageI wake in the morning.  It’s just another day. I feed my two cats, pour myself a cup of coffee, and draw my bath. As I continue with my morning routine,  listening to the Bible app on my phone, I hear my husband coming in after working all night. We chat a little in the few minutes before I leave for work.

I have a short commute, but this is “me” time. Some mornings I’m thinking about the day ahead. How busy will the phones be? Will customers be in a good mood or will they be grumpy. Some mornings I’m watching the people around me making their own commutes to their intended destinations. Some are in cars, some waiting for a bus, some walking, and every once in a while a plane will fly over. I can’t help but wonder what is going on in their world. What are they thinking? Have you ever done that?

As my mind wonders, I think about how fortunate I am. I’ve had my ups and downs in life like everyone else. Some better than others and some worse. That’s when I begin to notice the beauty around me. The sun is shining to warm the day. There’s a gentle breeze causing the leaves and branches to wave from the trees as I continue my commute. A bird sits on a limb, singing joyfully. I think of my family. My husband who loves me like no other. My children who are happy and healthy. My grandchildren and their sweet smiling faces. These are the things to remember when the hustle and bustle of day cause frustration and irritation.

God gives us all these gifts that we overlook. He is in everything! We just have to take the time to notice. Take time to sit quietly and recognize He is with us always. We get so wrapped up in our day to day lives that we tend to overlook His presence.

Take time to look around and enjoy the beauty God provides.

 

Leave a Reply

